Etsy Buyer Protection?

This is a legitimate complaint from a new buyer. Instead of Administrative Support stepping up to the plate and answering the question, it is again left up to sellers to make excuses for Etsy’s misleading policies.

Having trouble understanding where “Buyer Protection” is

buyerprotection

buyerprotection2

.

.

.

.

.

.

.

.

..

.

.

.

.

..

.

.

.

.

.

..

.

.

.

.

.

.

.

..

..

From Etsy’s Buyer Protection Help Pages:

Etsy has several teams dedicated to preventing fraud in our marketplace.

Where are these teams? And what do they do all day???? 

New purchase–possible scam

What do I do If I’ve been sold fake merchandise?

Refund for fake items bought

The product that I’ve bought is not what was advertised and I feel conned

Fraud?

I didnt receive what i bought!

If Etsy wants to play with the big boy sites it is imitating, it will need real customer support, not the failing system currently in place.

ETA:  From another mad buyer – WARNING: VERY EXPLICIT LANGUAGE!

mad

16 thoughts on “Etsy Buyer Protection?

  1. This just makes me sad. I mean, I do have a certain amount of glee also at how very, very badly Etsy is screwing itself, but I feel badly for that buyer who has entered Etsy’s Nine Circles of Hell and is likely never going to see either their money or their purchase.. S/he gets lots of sympathy and “do this, do that” from the forums, none of which help.
    I would think at some point the New York State Attorney General’s office is going to get involved. Etsy got their cut; the customer has lost money and didn’t get their purchase, and the seller is gone. Someone has to be held responsible sooner or later.

    • I think the standard reply is “so sorry this has happened to you.” From there the answers are “I think, blah, blah, blah” or “maybe blah, blah, blah” or “I’m not really sure but, blah, blah, blah” There isnt anyone over there who knows what the hell they are talking about.

  2. From Etsy’s Buyer Protection Help Pages: Etsy has several teams dedicated to preventing fraud in our marketplace. Sure, just like they have an integrity team to get rid of the re-sellers. We all know how that works. Etsy is becoming know for it’s buyer beware policy. The only payment options allowed should be PayPal and Credit Cards so that the buyer can recover their money from unscrupulous sellers. The sellers wishing to do trades could set up a reserved listing for $1 negating the need for a payment type of ‘other’. This would protect the buyers as long as they’re made aware there’s a 45 day window to file a claim. I would go so far as to file a claim on the 44th day even if item is in transit just to make sure what is delivered is what I ordered.

  3. Have these scam, fraud, etc. problems have been on the increase recently? I’m not in Etsy forums enough to tell but it sure looks like it. As *Violets* mentions, buyers should report them to the NY Attorney General’s office. There’s a “Bureau of Consumer Frauds and Protection” on the http://www.ag.ny.gov website. That might be a good place to start.

    Also, what the hell is up with Etsy’s B Corp status? All the imported crap made in sweatshop factory conditions should be enough to void that status. I think that someone at B Corp has friends at Etsy Inc. Which would make having B Corp status worthless. For everyone.

    • Everyday there are buyers saying they got ripped off. It’s starting to upset the sellers as most of them realize this will hurt their shops. Many of these buyers have said they won’t shop on Etsy again. Would you if Etsy said there’s nothing they can do for you?

      • If I was a buyer only and read these stories I wouldn’t buy on Etsy unless it was from someone I’d purchased from before.

        I also sell on Etsy and am now worried about how this reflects on my business. I stupidly thought it wouldn’t get this bad – I was wrong. The bad and/or illegal behaviour of these people will eventually rub off on all Etsy sellers.

        Raising a stink about it in the Etsy forums would result in a permanent muting. There must be some other way to call attention to the problem.

  4. Before they can offer a true customer support, they will have to learn what that is. At this point they probably BELIEVE that the current so call support they have in place (the forum and moderators) is sufficient. A true customer service will cost them hundreds of thousands of dollars. Perhaps that’s a cost they aren’t prepared to pay.

    • Nah. I think they’re gaslighting the Etsy diehards into believing it’s sufficient. The ones who don’t complain are the resellers and sweatshop owners – and that’s where the big money is for Etsy. Eventually only a very few small shops will remain, convinced that all you have to do is work on your titles and tags to make sales….

  5. Another one today. “so I got on to etsy trust and safety they have told me because 60 days have gone by I cannot open a case … so much better with ebay as they take matters like this strongly.” International buyer orders shoes and is sent wrong size. She pays to send them back and is given the correct size but wrong style of shoes and poor workmanship. Seller says too bad. Seller knows it’s too late to open a claim. Buyer has paid $120 plus shipping back and forth and Etsy says too bad!

  6. The key word for me in this entire post: Imitating.

    On a side note, the throngs of pissed off buyers remind me of a piece of advice I picked up from a carpenter last summer who’d learned it from his father: Do a good job, they’ll tell three people, and so on. Do a BAD job, and they’ll tell eleven!

    I hope Etsy is bracing for their “11.” Scammed, scorned, and unsupported customers are far worse than their favorite “bad press” scapegoat.

  7. I think that until many of these buyers actually contact the NYAG, nothing is going to get done. Once the AG has enough evidence of this kind of continued, basically, fraud- then maybe they’ll do something about it. As for me, I’ll pass on buying from E. anymore. I don’t trust it. I’ve seen too many of these kinds of postings.

  8. So strange that knowing so many others feel the same frustration as you will make you instantly calmer. I, too, entered a transaction that I patiently and willingly and unknowingly allowed to drag on beyond the date when I could file a formal complaint with etsy. Seller seemed so accomodating and so sweet on the phone and in emails…but just needed more time because of other orders that he had to get out. Sure. Now he’s closed his shop and will not respond to emails…and neither will etsy. Great customer support! It’s fun to spend a bunch of money on just what you want and still not get it! argh! artists???!?!? SCAM ARTISTS is more like it and they’ve got the perfect medium for their craft.

  9. Pingback: Etsy Front Page Scam Artist | RUSEtsy

Leave a Reply

