Rusetsy Provides Customer Support

Rusetsy has stepped forward to help answer this  Etsy Seller’s question as first reported on Rusetsy in this blog post:

Want an update on competitive email issue?

Tica from SecretJardens8:23 pm Oct 22, 2013 EDT

hello all, i’d like to update my thread with a screen shot of the email my friend received but i don’t know how to upload a screen shot. sorry. if somebody can reach out to me with instructions on how to embed a screenshot within this format, i’d appreciate it and will upload it.that said, let me reiterate: this april, just shortly after i opened my etsy shop, a business associate, now a friend, new to etsy, came here to purchase a Secret Jarden, a customized terrarium from me. It was a gift, personalized for an engagement. she loved it. and planned on coming back. i believe she even says so in her review.last week she received a “fall into etsy finds” email from etsy suggesting not one, not two but an entire page of terrariums she could purchase from etsy. Mine was not among the list of shops, by the way. No mention. In fact, the first row of shops were bigger and way more established than my shop. She brought this to my attention because she was annoyed and quite surprised.

so, etsy admin, here’s my question: can you tell me how this is fair to a new shop like mine trying to build a business and repeat customers? and can you show me an example of when you sent out an email to a buyer from one of these big shops suggesting my shop as an alternative? I’d love to see it. please share. it would answer a lot of my questions.

p.s. my friend never signed up for newsletters or updates. she received this email out of the blue, presumably because she purchased from my shop. thanks.

Tica,
First of all, Etsy has an “opt-out” policy for users of its’ site. That is, all users when signing up, are automatically “opted-in” to receive Etsy junk mail.  So technically, she signed up by not “opting out.”  (Yea, I know, it’s common-sense backwards.)
This is merely my opinion, but I’m wondering if since you do not want to offer a discount to a customer upon making a sale, as suggested by Etsy, then perhaps Etsy chooses to send out the “Competitive Email” instead. This would encourage you (maybe with a little arm-twisting) to give discounts to Etsy’s customers. This might be a good question for Etsy Administration to answer.
Best,
Rusetsy Customer Support
Leave a Reply

