Whose Customers Are These???

Ummmmmm……. Really?

Tica from SecretJardens 10:17 pm Oct 20, 2013 EDT

So it’s come to this. I attract a friend to visit my shop on etsy. She makes a purchase and is very happy with it. Then she receives an unsolicited email from etsy suggesting that based on her purchase, she might want to purchase the same kind of item from a competitor. Really? So, instead of allowing me to cultivate a steady clientele of happy customers, all of my buyers will instead be targeted by etsy to purchase from sellers who are competing with my specific item–not a “similar” item or ‘related’ item–but pretty much a competitive item. Really? They reached out to me because they thought it was odd and unwanted.Is this the new normal? Tell me now so I can spare myself, and those I’ve attracted, to any future unwanted targeting. It might be time to close shop. What do you think? Thanks.

Leave a Reply

